Opinion From Herald columnists and readers

Commentary

BISHOP ROBERT BARRON: Ingrid’s Virtual Reality

(Spoiler alert — article contains plot details)
October 6, 2017  |  By BISHOP ROBERT BARRON
Matt Spicer’s dark comedy “Ingrid Goes West” is a telling and penetrating critique of the iPhone culture that has swallowed up so many young people today. Now I know: I have an evangelical ministry that uses social media and reaches out through iPhones and other similar devices. Moreover, I have been known from time to time even to use such instruments personally. So I’m not going to use this review as an excuse for a broad-brush dismissal of social media. But I will indeed use it to encourage you to see this film, which artfully explores the shadow side of living in virtual reality.
 Read more...
September 25, 2017  |  By ROB FAUGHNAN
I have many memories of my father, but one in particular stands out. It was the late 1990s and we were driving Highway 72 in Coal Creek Canyon outside of Pinecliffe, Colorado, near Nederland.  My grandparents owned a cabin there in which I had spent a lot of time as a kid.
 Read more...
September 16, 2017  |  By KERRY PEETZ
BLESSINGS IN BLOOM: TomatoesThis time of year, home gardeners are enjoying their divine sun-ripened tomatoes. The taste of home-grown tomatoes is far superior to the winter store-bought ones. People almost cringe when summer ends and their tended tomato vines have shriveled up and show no sign of the former brightly-colored, juicy gems. Walking into the grocery store in the middle of December looking for a fresh tomato almost causes one to stop and lament the heavenly flavor from the not-so-long-ago backyard harvest.
 Read more...
September 16, 2017  |  By DEACON RICK BAUER
Then Simon Peter came, following him, and went into the tomb; he saw the linen cloths lying, and the napkin, which had been on his head, not lying with the linen cloths but rolled up in a place by itself. Then the other disciple, who reached the tomb first, also went in, and he saw and believed.” (John 20:6–8)
 Read more...
September 1, 2017  |  By CHRISTINA CAPECCHI
The rain fell heavy Monday morning in Des Moines, Iowa. Bleary-eyed travelers plotted alternative routes over eggs and potatoes at the Embassy Suites. A white-haired man wearing a Saturn shirt had heard it would be clearer in Columbia, Mo., than Kansas City, Mo., and decided to attempt the added hour of travel for a better view of the Great American Eclipse.
 Read more...
September 1, 2017  |  By DAVE KOTTLER
From behind the goal, the two women shouted support for their teams and their favorite players. It was, after all, overtime in their first ever National Hockey League game. They held up signs that said “Penguins Are My Bag” and “Hey Sydney, Facebook Me!” — both references to the NHL Pittsburgh Penguins and their all-star captain Sidney Crosby. They were typical animated, enthusiastic fans helping the league celebrate its 100th year in existence, with one remarkable exception: their combined ages totaled nearly twice the age of the league.
 Read more...
September 1, 2017  |  By ROB FAUGHNAN
My favorite part of all of the Star Wars movies is when Luke Skywalker fights Darth Vader in a seemingly endless battle in “The Empire Strikes Back.” Luke ultimately loses this battle, along with his hand. He also loses something far more intimate and valuable: his personal story. With the news that Darth Vader is his father, he realizes that his identity is not what he thought. Defeated, Luke lets go and allows himself to fall to his own death.
 Read more...
September 1, 2017  |  By BISHOP ROBERT BARRON
I vividly remember my first visit to Charlottesville, Virginia.  It was about 20 years ago, and I was on vacation with a good friend, who shared with me a passion for American history and for Thomas Jefferson in particular.
 Read more...
«« First « Previous |1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 | Last ››

Letters to the Editor

October 6, 2017  |  

 Read more...
June 2, 2017  |  

 


 Read more...
May 19, 2017  |  

 Read more...
May 4, 2017  |  

 Read more...
April 21, 2017  |  

 Read more...
April 7, 2017  |  

 Read more...
«« First « Previous |1 2 3 | Last ››