Opinion From Herald columnists and readers

Commentary

December 15, 2017  |  By KERRY PEETZ
BLESSINGS IN BLOOM: HollyDeck the halls with boughs of holly! It’s Christmas time, and holly is a recognized symbol of the season. Its stiff, spiny, glossy deep green leaves and bright red berrylike fruit are used to decorate our homes, tables and landscapes. Its beauty has withstood the test of time and reminds us that Christmas will soon be here.
 Read more...

THE CATHOLIC REVIEW: All I Want for Christmas

The 2017 Review of Great Catholic Gift Books
December 15, 2017  |  By DEACON RICK BAUER

 Read more...
December 1, 2017  |  By SISTER CONSTANCE CAROLYN VEIT
TED is a media organization that posts online talks under the slogan “ideas worth spreading.” Earlier this year Pope Francis surprised the world by digitally giving his own TED Talk at the organization’s annual conference in Vancouver. In his nearly 20 minute talk, our Holy Father challenged his listeners to ignite a much-needed revolution of tenderness in our world.
 Read more...

The Challenge of Migration

‘Share the Journey’ campaign puts a spotlight on the plight of refugees and migrants
December 1, 2017  |  By FATHER CYRUS GALLAGHER

 Read more...
November 17, 2017  |  By CHRISTINA CAPECCHI

Even before she was married, Emily Stimpson Chapman asked for baby prayers.

“I’d be in an antique store buying little trinkets for the wedding decorations, and I would be asking strangers: Pray that we have a baby!’” she said.


 Read more...

THE CATHOLIC REVIEW: A messenger for our times

Bishop Robert Barron on Proclaiming the Gospel in a Secular Age
November 17, 2017  |  By DEACON RICK BAUER
Bishop Robert Barron is the Archbishop Fulton Sheen of this generation. That’s not my opinion alone, but it is that of veteran Vatican-watcher, CNN commentator, and Catholic author John Allen, who has written extensively about the church in a variety of contexts. Most recently, Allen co-wrote a book with Bishop Barron titled “To Light a Fire on the Earth: Proclaiming the Gospel in a Secular Age.”
 Read more...
November 17, 2017  |  By KERRY PEETZ
BLESSINGS IN BLOOM: CranberriesTis the season for cranberries! These marble-sized, tart, tasty red berries pack a powerful blessing with their antioxidant punch. They are showing up fresh in our diocese at local supermarkets and should be available through the month of December.
 Read more...
November 17, 2017  |  By BISHOP ROBERT BARRON
Jean Twenge’s book “iGen” is one of the most fascinating — and depressing — texts I’ve read in the past decade. A professor of psychology at San Diego State University, Dr. Twenge has been, for years, studying trends among young Americans, and her most recent book focuses on the generation born between 1995 and 2012.
 Read more...
«« First « Previous |1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 | Last ››

Letters to the Editor

October 20, 2017  |  

 Read more...
October 6, 2017  |  

 Read more...
June 2, 2017  |  

 


 Read more...
May 19, 2017  |  

 Read more...
May 4, 2017  |  

 Read more...
April 21, 2017  |  

 Read more...
«« First « Previous |1 2 3 | Last ››