Opinion From Herald columnists and readers

Commentary

September 21, 2018  |  By FATHER TAD PACHOLCZYK
Often we envision donating our organs after we are dead, but we can also choose to become an organ donor while we are alive if we share part of our liver or donate one of our kidneys. The proposal to give one of our two kidneys away, though, does raise some ethical and safety concerns. There can be long-term risks for the donor. Donating a kidney, moreover, would not be therapeutic for us — only for someone else — and in fact might slightly increase our own risk for experiencing renal failure in the future.
 Read more...
September 7, 2018  |  By CHRISTINA CAPECCHI
I’ve been emailing my friend Becky, a newspaper editor in South Dakota, about our growing desire to unplug. We used to compare notes on “Dancing With the Stars,” but lately we’re both watching less TV.
 Read more...
August 17, 2018  |  By SISTER CONSTANCE CAROLYN VEIT
On August 30, the feast of our foundress, Saint Jeanne Jugan, we Little Sisters of the Poor will launch a jubilee year celebrating the 150th anniversary of our Congregation’s arrival in the United States.
 Read more...
August 17, 2018  |  By DEACON RICK BAUER
We can all benefit from study and reflection that helps us to live the Mass more deeply, and fortunately there are many resources to aid us in this endeavor. Below are reviews of three that are worth investigating:
 Read more...
August 17, 2018  |  By KERRY PEETZ
BLESSINGS IN BLOOM: PearsPears are another gift from above. It’s no secret that everyone should eat more fruits and vegetables. Research shows that most people are not getting enough. While vegetables are more difficult to eat for some, fruit is seen as a more palatable choice.
 Read more...
August 17, 2018  |  By ANDY BARTON
Earlier this summer, when the practice of separating immigrant children from their parents at the border captured the attention of the nation, a friend of mine and former police officer, made an apologetic explanation of why he felt the actions by the federal government were justified. Prefacing his statement with “I’m sorry, but . . . ,” he rationalized that children are removed from parents who commit a crime all the time under the United States legal system. Since these families were crossing the border illegally, he maintained, the parents were subject to the same criminal consequences as anyone else in the United States.
 Read more...
August 3, 2018  |  By SUSAN ROSS

You have about two months to live, Charlie,” said the specialist.

My husband of 40 years was having some difficulty breathing and went in for a check-up with his cardiologist. After running a few tests, she called him that same day and advised him to go to the emergency room, as his blood count was dangerously low. We went to the hospital immediately!


 Read more...
August 3, 2018  |  By FATHER TAD PACHOLCZYK
Superheroes attract us. From Greek gods to Superman and Spiderman, our fascination with the awesome deeds of superheroes beckons us to become Masters of our own destiny. Yet even as we enjoy the fantasy of acquiring Promethean powers to combat our enemies and conquer evil, we have legitimate misgivings about mere mortals taking on god-like powers in real life. We are concerned about those who play with fire just like Prometheus did, at the risk of harm and great destruction. Today, as modern medicine tries to rebuff death and control our humanity in ever more sophisticated ways, new temptations arise that challenge us to choose between life and death, between living in reality and living in a fantasy world where we elevate ourselves as “Masters of our own destiny.”
 Read more...
«« First |1 2 3 4 5 6 7 ... 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 | Last ››

Letters to the Editor

May 4, 2017  |  

 Read more...
April 21, 2017  |  

 Read more...
April 7, 2017  |  

 Read more...
April 7, 2017  |  

 Read more...
April 7, 2017  |  

 Read more...
«« First |1 2 3 4 5 | Last ››