Opinion From Herald columnists and readers

Commentary

October 19, 2018  |  By ANDY BARTON
Last January, I spent a day surveying individuals who were living in homeless camps in Colorado Springs.  I was there as a part of the “Point In Time” count, a yearly attempt to quantify the number of individuals experiencing homelessness.  The count is required of any community receiving federal funding to address the issue. I participated along with four other volunteers and we visited camps in various parts of the city, spending about 10 minutes with each individual as we asked the questions on our survey.
 Read more...
October 5, 2018  |  By FATHER TAD PACHOLCZYK
Almost two million Americans are now addicted to opioids. The National Institute on Drug Abuse notes that more than 100 people die each day in the U.S. from opioid overdoses. This unprecedented level of abuse — which involves not only heroin, but also prescription pain relievers such as OxyContin, Percocet, morphine, codeine, and fentanyl — has become a national crisis. Reportedly, about 80 percent of heroin addicts first misused prescription opioids. Yet for many patients, no pain-relieving options more effective than opioids exist. Figuring out how to use these powerful pharmacological agents in an appropriate and ethical manner is urgent and imperative.
 Read more...
September 21, 2018  |  By DEACON RICK BAUER
Many Catholics know that the month of October is the month of the Holy Rosary of the Blessed Virgin Mary. What better time to look at the treasure-trove of excellent books to grow (or even begin) a vibrant and authentic Marian veneration practice within our hearts, our families, and our homes?
 Read more...
September 21, 2018  |  By KERRY PEETZ
BLESSINGS IN BLOOM: PyracanthaPyracantha (pronounced “Pie-ra-CAN-tha”) is the beautiful orange-fruited evergreen bush that likes to stand up and be noticed this time of year. Once you get the pronunciation squared away, you might agree this plant is a bit of a wonder. Incidentally, its common name is firethorn.
 Read more...
September 21, 2018  |  By FATHER TAD PACHOLCZYK
Often we envision donating our organs after we are dead, but we can also choose to become an organ donor while we are alive if we share part of our liver or donate one of our kidneys. The proposal to give one of our two kidneys away, though, does raise some ethical and safety concerns. There can be long-term risks for the donor. Donating a kidney, moreover, would not be therapeutic for us — only for someone else — and in fact might slightly increase our own risk for experiencing renal failure in the future.
 Read more...
September 7, 2018  |  By CHRISTINA CAPECCHI
I’ve been emailing my friend Becky, a newspaper editor in South Dakota, about our growing desire to unplug. We used to compare notes on “Dancing With the Stars,” but lately we’re both watching less TV.
 Read more...
August 17, 2018  |  By SISTER CONSTANCE CAROLYN VEIT
On August 30, the feast of our foundress, Saint Jeanne Jugan, we Little Sisters of the Poor will launch a jubilee year celebrating the 150th anniversary of our Congregation’s arrival in the United States.
 Read more...
August 17, 2018  |  By DEACON RICK BAUER
We can all benefit from study and reflection that helps us to live the Mass more deeply, and fortunately there are many resources to aid us in this endeavor. Below are reviews of three that are worth investigating:
 Read more...
«« First |1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 ... 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 | Last ››

Letters to the Editor