Opinion From Herald columnists and readers

Commentary

October 20, 2017  |  By FATHER TAD PACHOLCZYK
During World War II, if a contractor had been asked to construct a building knowing that it would serve as a gas chamber in Auschwitz, it goes without saying that he ought not agree to do it.  By laying the foundation and supervising the plumbing, electrical and duct work, he would be contributing to, or enabling, the subsequent commission of atrocities against prisoners in the concentration camp.
 Read more...
October 20, 2017  |  By ANDY BARTON
Like many Americans, I can trace a line in my ancestry to the “Catholic hordes,” though I have never said it that way. The term is antiquated, once representing a majority sentiment of mid-19th century Americans who actively protested immigration in their time. 
 Read more...
October 20, 2017  |  By BISHOP ROBERT BARRON

As many Catholics know, the Second Vatican Council famously referred to the liturgy as the “source and summit of the Christian life.” And following the prompts of the great figures of the liturgical movement in the first half of the twentieth century, the Council Fathers called for a fuller, more conscious, and more active participation in the liturgy on the part of Catholics.

 


 Read more...
October 20, 2017  |  By KERRY PEETZ
BLESSINGS IN BLOOM: ChrysanthemumsFall is here with snaps of winter freeze. Extending a burst of color in the garden can be easy with the help of Chrysanthemums. Called “mums” for short they are popular perennials and can be found outside (and inside) brightening up almost every building in our diocese. They offer an intense display of color at the end of the season and if properly cared for can provide years of enjoyment.     
 Read more...
October 20, 2017  |  By DEACON RICK BAUER
Colorado is blessed to host the ministry of Sherry Weddell. Initiating a spiritual gifts discernment ministry in 1997, Weddell went on to teach how parishes can be more effective in the training and formation of members by replicating the “intentional discipleship” ministry patterns in the ministry of Jesus. Weddell is the author of “Forming Intentional Disciples: The Path to Knowing and Following Jesus (2012).” She also edited and contributed to “Becoming a Parish of Intentional Disciples” (2015).
 Read more...

BISHOP ROBERT BARRON: Ingrid’s Virtual Reality

(Spoiler alert — article contains plot details)
October 6, 2017  |  By BISHOP ROBERT BARRON
Matt Spicer’s dark comedy “Ingrid Goes West” is a telling and penetrating critique of the iPhone culture that has swallowed up so many young people today. Now I know: I have an evangelical ministry that uses social media and reaches out through iPhones and other similar devices. Moreover, I have been known from time to time even to use such instruments personally. So I’m not going to use this review as an excuse for a broad-brush dismissal of social media. But I will indeed use it to encourage you to see this film, which artfully explores the shadow side of living in virtual reality.
 Read more...
September 25, 2017  |  By ROB FAUGHNAN
I have many memories of my father, but one in particular stands out. It was the late 1990s and we were driving Highway 72 in Coal Creek Canyon outside of Pinecliffe, Colorado, near Nederland.  My grandparents owned a cabin there in which I had spent a lot of time as a kid.
 Read more...
September 16, 2017  |  By KERRY PEETZ
BLESSINGS IN BLOOM: TomatoesThis time of year, home gardeners are enjoying their divine sun-ripened tomatoes. The taste of home-grown tomatoes is far superior to the winter store-bought ones. People almost cringe when summer ends and their tended tomato vines have shriveled up and show no sign of the former brightly-colored, juicy gems. Walking into the grocery store in the middle of December looking for a fresh tomato almost causes one to stop and lament the heavenly flavor from the not-so-long-ago backyard harvest.
 Read more...
«« First |1 2 3 4 5 6 7 ... 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 ... 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 | Last ››

Letters to the Editor

«« First « Previous |1 2 3 4 5 6 | Last ››