Teachers receive awards for service during Catholic Schools Week
Veronica Ambuul

Teachers receive awards for service during Catholic Schools Week

By Veronica Ambuul

(Above photo: Kari Smith, principal of Divine Redeemer School, is pictured with Father Jason Keas, Divine Redeemer pastor, and Bishop James Golka on Jan. 31 after receiving an award for 20 years of service to the school. Bishop Golka celebrated Mass at Divine Redeemer as part of Catholic Schools Week. Photo by Diane Torrence)

COLORADO SPRINGS.  Catholic School Service awards are given to teachers and staff members who have demonstrated a long-term commitment to Catholic education. Following are the names of teachers who received service awards during Catholic Schools Week:

Ave Maria School, Parker: Ten years — Anita Freimuth, Christine Miller, Diana Seib, Yoshino Vizcarra. Five years — Carrie Castillo, Leofe Cox, Candace Knoll, James Landry, Jennifer Schaaf, Sarah Stanga.

Corpus Christi School: 25 years — Rebecca Wilson. 20 years — Daniel O’Connell. Five years — Nui Huff.

Divine Redeemer School: 20 years — Fran Clay, Kari Smith. 15 years — Myra Hansen. Five years — Lindsey Campbell, Mary Beth Clavenna, Valeryan Holley, Jeffrey Petrie.  

Holy Apostles Preschool: 15 years — Paula Cooper. Five years — Samantha Ross.

St. Katharine Drexel, Lone Tree: Five years — Ann Beall.

St. Paul School: 35 years — Jamie Fleishmann. Five years — Ana Cervantes.

St. Peter School, Monument: 25 years — Carol Burns. 20 years — Julie Malone. Ten years — Tina Hatton, Allison Heffner. Five years — Robin Sheehan.

In addition to service awards, the Office of Catholic Schools gives out several special awards each year:

The St. John Bosco Award is given to a teacher who has demonstrated excellence in instructional innovation. Like St. John Bosco, recipients of this award are not afraid to explore new directions and innovations in education. St. John Bosco used a number of unorthodox methods, including acrobatics and magic tricks, to spread Christ’s words to children. Through the introduction of new programs, use of new materials or technology, or creative approaches to teaching, recipients of this award show that education is a constantly changing craft. This year’s St. John Bosco award recipients are: Lindsey Campbell, Divine Redeemer School; Samantha Ross, Holy Apostles Preschool; Kelly Benchoff, St. Gabriel Classical Academy; and Terrie Wieland, St. Paul School.

The St. André Bessette Award is given to a new teacher who has demonstrated drive and dedication to his or her new ministry. This year’s St. Andre Bessette Award winner is James Landry, Ave Maria School.

The St. Peter the Rock Award is given to a staff member of a Catholic school who demonstrates excellence in service to the school community. The support staff is the backbone of a school. This award recognizes those who often work “behind the scenes” to make a school succeed. Be they an office worker, custodian, teacher’s aide, or other staff member, recipients of this award demonstrate dedication, competence, generosity, and respect for all of those within the community. This year’s winners of the St. Peter the Rock Award are Dawn Ambuul and Monique Callahan, Corpus Christi School; and Ann Beall, St. Katharine Drexel School.

The Christ the Teacher Award is given to a teacher who personifies the ideal of Christ the Teacher. Jesus calls us to preach the Good News to all people. Recipients of this award demonstrate not only excellence in teaching, but in Christian service to all of God’s children. Through their love, compassion, dedication and faith, Christ the Teacher Award winners serve as an example of Christian teaching and living in our world.  This year’s Christ the Teacher award winners are Mark Medina, Corpus Christi School, and Salesian Sister Quynh Pham, St. Peter School, Monument.

Previous Article Visit to Ukraine brings both sadness and hope
Next Article Breakthrough Healing Workshop draws hundreds of attendees
540 Rate this article:

Veronica AmbuulVeronica Ambuul

Other posts by Veronica Ambuul
Contact author
Please login or register to post comments.

Contact author



  • All
  • Current issue
  • 40th Anniversary of the Diocese
  • Arts & Culture
  • Puzzle Answers
  • Diocesan News
  • Diocesan Schools
  • Deanery Briefs
  • Parish News
  • Bishop's Corner
  • The Bishop's Crozier
  • El Báculo del Obispo
  • Book Reviews
  • Español
  • Eucharistic Revival
  • Obituaries
  • Opinion
  • Commentary
  • Letters to the Editor
  • Editorials
  • Marriage and Family
  • Religious Freedom
  • Respect Life
  • US/World News
  • Vocations
    Linda Oppelt

    Human trafficking presentation set for June 29

    Counselor and author Dann Aungst will give a talk on the connection between pornography and sex trafficking on June 29 from 10-11 a.m. at St. Francis of Assisi Parish in Colorado Springs. The presentation is for all adults and does not contain...
    Linda Oppelt

    Independence Day celebration set for July 6

    PARKER. Knights of Columbus Council 7880 at Ave Maria Parish in Parker will host its annual Independence Day celebration on July 6 at Ave Maria. This year, a Car Show will take place in the church parking lot. Check-in begins at 9 a.m., followed...

    No content

    A problem occurred while loading content.

    Previous Next