Opinion From Herald columnists and readers

Commentary

September 6, 2019  |  By SEAN WRIGHT

The Blessed Virgin Mary did not have an easy life, despite the joy she knew as the loving mother of Jesus. She faced many difficulties. such as being pregnant and walking — or riding a donkey — for 90 miles over three or four days. Devotionally, the Church lists seven major sorrow-ful events in her life:


 Read more...

THE CATHOLIC REVIEW: Proverbs and other Manly Virtues

Helpful reading for men, women and their children
September 6, 2019  |  By DEACON RICK BAUER

This month’s book review features four books — two written by authors from our own diocese — that are designed to help readers grow in virtue and develop their prayer lives. Each one would make a great gift on its own, especially during this time of year when Catholic parents are thinking of ways to help their college-bound children to remain strong in their faith.


 Read more...
September 6, 2019  |  

We ate our honey. We ate a lot. Now we have no honey in our honey pot.”

With those 17 words, averaging just three letters in length, Jan and Stan Berenstain launched their legendary book series. They were using the methods Dr. Seuss had coached them on: rhyme, repetition, short sentences.


 Read more...
September 6, 2019  |  By ANDY BARTON

If you want to hear from someone who is really concerned about the condition of our poor in the United States, talk to a visitor from the Gaza Strip.


 Read more...
August 16, 2019  |  By BISHOP ROBERT BARRON

There is, to be sure, a stress within the Biblical tradition that God is radically other: “Truly, you are a God who hides himself, O God of Israel, the Savior.” (Isaiah 45:15) and “No one shall see [God] and live” (Exodus 33:20). 


 Read more...
August 16, 2019  |  By KERRY PEETZ
BLESSINGS IN BLOOM: Liatris

Liatris is an exceptional perennial for Colorado in that it is both tough and beautiful. Its tall, slender flower stalks are eye-catching and seem to remind us to “Stand up straight and walk with God!”


 Read more...
August 16, 2019  |  By CHRISTINA CAPECCHI

Business was good. So good, in fact, that the family company had become one of the largest breweries in New England, producing 300,000 barrels a year and supporting two generations of Geisels in Springfield, Mass.


 Read more...
August 2, 2019  |  By SEAN WRIGHT

In 258 A.D., Publius Licinius Valerianus — known to history as Valerian — had been Emperor of Rome for five years. He became perturbed that many members of the patrician and equestrian classes were fascinated by a dead Galilean carpenter whose teachings had vexed the empire for two centuries.


 Read more...
«« First « Previous |1 2 3 4 ... 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 | Last ››

Letters to the Editor

August 2, 2019  |  

 Read more...
February 14, 2019  |  

 Read more...
December 21, 2018  |  

 Read more...
November 16, 2018  |  

 Read more...
«« First « Previous |1 2 3 4 5 6 | Last ››