Opinion From Herald columnists and readers

Commentary

September 20, 2019  |  By KERRY PEETZ
BLESSINGS IN BLOOM: Dahlia

If you attended a county or state fair this summer, chances are the blue-ribbon winner in the horticulture competition was a dahlia. These flowers are so intricate and stunning, there must be infinite fields of them growing blissfully in heaven.


 Read more...
September 20, 2019  |  By BISHOP ROBERT BARRON

I have been following George Will’s thought for a long time. I’m old enough to remember when his column occupied the last page of Newsweek magazine every other week and when he sat in the chair of conservative thought on David Brinkley’s Sunday morning political talk show.


 Read more...
September 6, 2019  |  By SEAN WRIGHT

The Blessed Virgin Mary did not have an easy life, despite the joy she knew as the loving mother of Jesus. She faced many difficulties. such as being pregnant and walking — or riding a donkey — for 90 miles over three or four days. Devotionally, the Church lists seven major sorrow-ful events in her life:


 Read more...

THE CATHOLIC REVIEW: Proverbs and other Manly Virtues

Helpful reading for men, women and their children
September 6, 2019  |  By DEACON RICK BAUER

This month’s book review features four books — two written by authors from our own diocese — that are designed to help readers grow in virtue and develop their prayer lives. Each one would make a great gift on its own, especially during this time of year when Catholic parents are thinking of ways to help their college-bound children to remain strong in their faith.


 Read more...
September 6, 2019  |  

We ate our honey. We ate a lot. Now we have no honey in our honey pot.”

With those 17 words, averaging just three letters in length, Jan and Stan Berenstain launched their legendary book series. They were using the methods Dr. Seuss had coached them on: rhyme, repetition, short sentences.


 Read more...
September 6, 2019  |  By ANDY BARTON

If you want to hear from someone who is really concerned about the condition of our poor in the United States, talk to a visitor from the Gaza Strip.


 Read more...
August 16, 2019  |  By BISHOP ROBERT BARRON

There is, to be sure, a stress within the Biblical tradition that God is radically other: “Truly, you are a God who hides himself, O God of Israel, the Savior.” (Isaiah 45:15) and “No one shall see [God] and live” (Exodus 33:20). 


 Read more...
August 16, 2019  |  By KERRY PEETZ
BLESSINGS IN BLOOM: Liatris

Liatris is an exceptional perennial for Colorado in that it is both tough and beautiful. Its tall, slender flower stalks are eye-catching and seem to remind us to “Stand up straight and walk with God!”


 Read more...
«« First |1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 ... 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 | Last ››

Letters to the Editor

September 7, 2018  |  

 Read more...
September 7, 2018  |  

 Read more...
September 7, 2018  |  

 Read more...
August 3, 2018  |  

 Read more...
June 15, 2018  |  

 Read more...
April 6, 2018  |  

 Read more...
February 16, 2018  |  

 Read more...
«« First |1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 | Last ››