Opinion From Herald columnists and readers

Commentary

October 18, 2019  |  By SEAN M. WRIGHT

A soft-spoken, gentle man born in Orleans, France, in 1607, Isaac Jogues entered the Society of Jesus in 1624, was ordained, and served at the university in Rouen as a professor of literature. He was sent as a Jesuit missionary to Canada in 1636, where he joyfully brought the Gospel to Native Americans, sailing up the St. Lawrence River to the city of Quebec.


 Read more...
October 18, 2019  |  By BISHOP ROBERT BARRON

As I compose these words, I am preparing to leave for Rome, where I will attend the canonization Mass for John Henry Newman, and then for Oxford, where I will give a paper on Newman’s thought in regard to evangelization.


 Read more...
October 4, 2019  |  By CHRISTINA CAPECCHI

I was a sophomore in college when I received the little blue book, a gift from a friend who also wanted to be a writer. At the time I was editing the student newspaper, poring over buried leads and dangling modifiers.


 Read more...
September 20, 2019  |  By SISTER CONSTANCE CAROLYN VEIT

During a recent Catholic conference, I saw a Scripture quote on a poster that read: “Always be prepared to make a defense to anyone who calls you to account for the hope that is in you, yet do it with gentleness and reverence . . . ” (1 Peter 3:15-16).


 Read more...
September 20, 2019  |  By KERRY PEETZ
BLESSINGS IN BLOOM: Dahlia

If you attended a county or state fair this summer, chances are the blue-ribbon winner in the horticulture competition was a dahlia. These flowers are so intricate and stunning, there must be infinite fields of them growing blissfully in heaven.


 Read more...
September 20, 2019  |  By BISHOP ROBERT BARRON

I have been following George Will’s thought for a long time. I’m old enough to remember when his column occupied the last page of Newsweek magazine every other week and when he sat in the chair of conservative thought on David Brinkley’s Sunday morning political talk show.


 Read more...
September 6, 2019  |  By SEAN M. WRIGHT

The Blessed Virgin Mary did not have an easy life, despite the joy she knew as the loving mother of Jesus. She faced many difficulties. such as being pregnant and walking — or riding a donkey — for 90 miles over three or four days. Devotionally, the Church lists seven major sorrow-ful events in her life:


 Read more...

THE CATHOLIC REVIEW: Proverbs and other Manly Virtues

Helpful reading for men, women and their children
September 6, 2019  |  By DEACON RICK BAUER

This month’s book review features four books — two written by authors from our own diocese — that are designed to help readers grow in virtue and develop their prayer lives. Each one would make a great gift on its own, especially during this time of year when Catholic parents are thinking of ways to help their college-bound children to remain strong in their faith.


 Read more...
«« First |1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 ... 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 | Last ››

Letters to the Editor